What are the main differences between Theravada and Mahayana Buddhism?

What are the main differences between Theravada and Mahayana Buddhism?

Whereas Theravada Buddhists strive to become Arhats and gain freedom from the cycle of samsara, Mahayana Buddhists may choose to stay in the cycle of samsara out of compassion for others.

How do Theravada and Mahayana Buddhism share in common?

Theravada Buddhism and Mahayana Buddhism share the same core beliefs and devotion to the life and teaching of Buddha, but they do have some differences. Theravada Buddhism is associated with South East Asia and is perhaps closer to the original Indian form of Buddhism.

How Mahayana Buddhism began?

As far as we know, Mahayana Buddhism began to take shape in the first century BCE. This religious movement then rapidly developed in a number of different places in and around what is now India, the birthplace of Buddhism. We now think that the Buddha, who founded the religion, died sometime toward the year 400 BCE.

What is the founder of Mahayana Buddhism?

Siddhartha Gautama, the founder of Buddhism who later became known as “the Buddha,” lived during the 5th century B.C. Gautama was born into a wealthy family as a prince in present-day Nepal. Although he had an easy life, Gautama was moved by suffering in the world.

What is the destiny of Mahayana Buddhism?

Mahayana Buddhists attempt to become Bodhisattvas, which are enlightened beings. They choose to remain in the cycle of samsara in order to enlighten others. To become a Bodhisattva, they must become perfect in six areas of their lives. These are generosity, morality, patience, energy, meditation and wisdom.

What is the morality of Mahayana Buddhism?

In Mahayana Buddhism, another important foundation for moral action is the Bodhisattva ideal. In Mahayana Buddhist texts, this path of great compassion is promoted as being superior to that of the Arhat because the Bodhisattva is seen as working for the benefit of all beings.