What makes Mahayana Buddhism different?

What makes Mahayana Buddhism different?

Mahayana Buddhists believe they can achieve enlightenment through following the teachings of the Buddha . Whereas Theravada Buddhists strive to become Arhats and gain freedom from the cycle of samsara, Mahayana Buddhists may choose to stay in the cycle of samsara out of compassion for others.

What is meant by Mahayana?

: a liberal and theistic branch of Buddhism comprising sects chiefly in China and Japan, recognizing a large body of scripture in addition to the Pali canon, and teaching social concern and universal salvation — compare theravada.

Which are examples of Mahayana scripture?

Mahayana Main scriptures: Sutras (sacred texts) — 2184 sacred writings. Popular: 1) Lotus Sutra — a sermon by the Buddha on Bodhisattva, buddha-nature, etc. 2) Perfection of Wisdom Sutra (Prajna-paramita) — describes emptiness and others. 3) Heart Sutra— describes nirvana, emptiness, and Ultimate Reality.

How would you distinguish between the Mahayana and Hinayana sects of Buddhism?

But these sect have also a few differences. One of the differences is that Mahayana Buddhists believe that The Buddha (Siddhartha Gautama) is a God but Hinayana Buddhists believe that The Buddha was an ordinary Human. The ideal of Hinayana is individual salvation, but the ideal of Mahayana is Bodhisatva.

What do Theravada and Mahayana have in common?

Theravada Buddhism and Mahayana Buddhism share the same core beliefs and devotion to the life and teaching of Buddha, but they do have some differences. Theravada Buddhism is associated with South East Asia and is perhaps closer to the original Indian form of Buddhism.

Where is Mahayana Buddhism most commonly found?

In the course of its history, Mahāyāna Buddhism spread throughout South Asia, Central Asia, East Asia and Southeast Asia. It remains influential today in China, Taiwan, Mongolia, Korea, Japan, Vietnam, Nepal, Malaysia, and Bhutan.