What are the 3 types of galaxies?

What are the 3 types of galaxies?

Astronomers classify galaxies into three major categories: elliptical, spiral and irregular. These galaxies span a wide range of sizes, from dwarf galaxies containing as few as 100 million stars to giant galaxies with more than a trillion stars.

How do astronomers detect the wobble?

By measuring the subtle motion of these features, to bluer or redder wavelengths, astronomers can detect the “wobble” of the star produced in response to its orbiting planet. A portion of NEID, called the port adaptor, is seen here on the WIYN telescope.

What country can you see the most stars?

Here are 10 of the best places on Earth for a view of the night sky at its most magnificent.

  • The Empty Quarter, Arabian Peninsula.
  • Atacama Desert, Chile.
  • La Palma, Canary Islands.
  • Himalayas.
  • Volcanoes of Hawaii.
  • Western Australia.
  • The Alps.
  • Wyoming, US.

Can you see the moon and stars at night where you live?

Can you see the moon and the stars at night where you live? Unfortunately not, as I’m living in the metropolis, the sky is always hazy at night. That simply because of pollution – too many cars and factories emit carbon dioxide and other gases that pollute the air which obstructs the view of the sky.

Why do we see the moon only at night?

The Moon produces no light of its own like the Sun does. Instead, we see the Moon because of the Sun’s light reflects back to our eyes. These objects — other planets and stars — can usually only be seen at night when the Sun’s light doesn’t outshine them.

How many phases does the moon have?

eight phases

How do full moons get their names?

Adopted as Full Moon Names Today, many of these ancient month names have been adopted as names for the Full Moon of each month. A common explanation, published in the Old Farmer’s Almanac, is that Colonial Americans adopted Native American names and incorporated them into the modern calendar.